reviewingit

Miss – Rice Bar Not Only Rice

Posted on: June 28, 2011

121 Grattan St, Carlton.

Right, so we’re dining only metres away from a university, I expected that the standard of food wouldn’t be very high, given it’s so cheap and aimed at the student market. However, I did expect that food hygiene standards would be met. But before I go there, let me describe my hideously tasteless heap of bland, flavourless bowl of fried calamari.

It came lumped on a plate with greasy coating, no garnish, no flavour, no colour. I could taste the stale, recycled oil – and that was about the only flavour it had. As I begrudgingly put a forkful into my mouth, I noticed an unsightly black hair dangling from the greasy, stale piece of calamari.

GAME OVER

I can stand no flavour, and to a degree I can even just grimace and bear the taste of stale recycled oil. But a hair follicle, freshly fallen from the grace of the cook’s dandruffed head – no. The line must be drawn somewhere.

Though I must say the even bigger disappointment was my fiance tipping them a few dollars once he paid the the bill for food we did not eat. His justification: “I felt sorry for them”.

Unforgivable.

So we had KFC instead. Told you our standards weren’t high…

Rice Bar Not Only Rice on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to "Miss – Rice Bar Not Only Rice"

You’re fiance sounds quite a noble man.

you seemed to have snared yourself quite a catch!

Hi GG,
Your first posts just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out:
http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/1439039/restaurant/Victoria/Carlton/Rice-Bar-Not-Only-Rice-Melbourne
http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/761370/restaurant/Victoria/Nobu-Southbank
I encourage you to claim your blog, which allows you to add a picture and change some settings. The blog photo shows up next to your posts wherever they appear on Urbanspoon. Here’s how to claim:
– Make sure you’re logged into Urbanspoon
– Go to your blog page on our site: http://www.urbanspoon.com/br/1/5495/Seattle/reviewingit.html

– Click “Claim your blog” in the left sidebar
After you submit it, we may contact you to verify your claim. Check your spam email folder if your claim hasn’t gone through in a day or two. You’ll also find some interesting badges and widgets on your Urbanspoon blog page – look in the right sidebar.
Let me know if you have any questions.
Thanks,
Ken
http://www.urbanspoon.com

Leave a Reply

  • Ken: Hi GG, Your first posts just appeared on Urbanspoon! Check it out: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/1439039/restaurant/Victoria/Carlton/Rice-Bar-Not
  • Cano: You're fiance sounds quite a noble man. you seemed to have snared yourself quite a catch!

Categories

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

